Men's Sports Sports

Springfield College men’s basketball’s Charlie Brock and Jake Ross earn year-end regional awards

Gage Nutter

Individual awards continue to pile up for members of the Springfield College men’s basketball team.

Sophomore Jake Ross was named Noontime Hoops’ Player of the Year this afternoon.

Noontime Hoops exclusively covers professional, college, and high school basketball throughout New England.

Ross led the Pride this season in points per-game (24.8), assists per-game (4.3), rebounds per-game (9.8), and steals per-game (2.3).

This year, Ross built off a stellar freshman season in which he was named National Rookie of the Year by .

In addition to Ross, Pride head coach Charlie Brock was named Coach of the Year by Noontime Hoops.

Springfield’s 22 wins is the most the program has achieved since the 2004-2005 season. This season was Brock’s 20th at the helm for the Pride.

After the team went through a five-game losing streak earlier in the season, the Pride went on an 11-1 run and lost only two games to conference opponents. After falling to WPI in the NEWMAC semifinals, Springfield won an at-large bid to the NCAA Tournament and blazed a path all the way to the national semifinals for the first time in program history.


(Featured photo courtesy of @Noontime_Hoops )

Leave a Reply