Men's Sports Sports

Springfield to Host ECAC Northeast Bowl, 11 Earn Liberty League

Jimmy Kelley
Online/Sports Editor

For the third time in four years, Springfield College will play host to an ECAC Division III Northeast Bowl. The last time the Pride hosted such a game, they handed Mount Ida a 26-17 defeat in 2010.

This year’s iteration of the bowl game will feature a familiar opponent in former Empire 8 foe, Alfred State. In order to qualify for one of these bowl games, a team must win at least seven games, a mark Springfield reached with their 62-23 win over WPI on Saturday.

After some early season struggles that could mostly be attributed to the injury bug, the Pride have really settled in on both sides of the ball. The Pride have won four straight games by a combined score of 203-77.

The honors also kept rolling into the football offices at Springfield College as 11 players earned Liberty League honors, the offensive line was named to’s Team of the Week, and junior center Scott Leech earned Academic All-District honors.

Joel Altavesta, Duke Ekblom, Max Nacewicz and Mike Davis all earned first-team honors in the Liberty League while Mike MacDonald, Kevin Shields and Sam Weiss took home second-team honors.

Phil Baier, Mike Dublin and Ricky Peacock were honorable mentions.

Freshman quarterback Jon Marrero was awarded the Liberty League Rookie of the Year.

Leave a Reply